I can’t wait to see where this goes.

It’s almost November, and I figured it was time for an update. This semester has been a rush, but a lot of interesting things have happened. This post is probably going to be like an “About Me” on steroids cause there’s just a lot to talk about and I don’t want to write multiple blog posts on it. (warning)

For starters, I’ve been volunteering with an organization called Global NIM (Global Network of Independent Missions). Their main goal is to raise funds and awareness for independent missions projects abroad. Independent missions projects are any projects abroad that are not particularly affiliated with an organization or denomination. For instance, they raise money to sponsor orphans in Haiti, Kenya, and India. They’ve also been apart of opening eye, dental, tuberculosis, and HIV/AIDS clinics in India. Working with the founders has been amazing so far. I’ve had the opportunity to learn a lot about non-profit work. I’ve been on missions trips before, but until now, I haven’t understood the actual work that goes into missions. I’m glad I’ve had the opportunity to work with them.

This September, I was given the opportunity to start an internship with Consumer Pulse Marketing, a research based marketing firm in Tulsa. To say the least, I am very lucky. There couldn’t be a better time for me to be getting this experience–and already I’ve learned so much. Besides learning how to meet our clients…very specific… marketing needs, I’ve understood the importance of professionalism a bit more. I tend to be pretty “chill”, so CPM has been good to me in that way. We have a work blog and I made my first post a few weeks ago, check it out.

In September, I also found out that my granddad was diagnosed with prostate cancer. Thankfully, it’s doesn’t look serious..but it’s still the big “C”. If you could, remember him. In my life, thankfully I havent experienced a death of anyone close to my me, and I’ve always wondered what that would be like. Even though I am not foreseeing death with this particular situation, it naturally makes me think about my time more, and how I live my day-to-day. “I can’t complain but sometimes I still do.
Life’s been good to me so far.” (Eagles lyrics). I guess things don’t always happen the way I want, but I’ve realized that everything I’ve almost had but didn’t, I never really wanted. I’m glad life works out the way it does, and trust that everything happens for a reason.

With all the randomness that I’ve experienced in my life thus far, I find it funny that I still can’t seem to put pieces together. I hope that means there is more to come…I think that’s what it means.

Lastly, according to registrars, I’m going to be graduating in the Spring! All I can think is that, I can’t wait to see where this goes. Thanks for reading my ramblings, and I promise to update soon.

OPPORTUNITY TAKE-AWAY: “Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” –Steve Jobs

Listening to: I Ran by A Flock of Seagulls

About Jordan Moran

My name is Jordan Moran. I am a Senior at Oral Roberts University in Tulsa, OK. In 2012, I will receive my B.S. in Marketing. I like to have fun and experience new things. For me, life is all about learning and having fun while doing it. Check me out http://aboutme.com/jordanmoran

What's your input?